Defining Tolerance: Follow Up

September 4, 2010

Before anyone says anything, I don’t agree 100% with all of his comments.  However, where I do agree with him, I feel he makes great points.  For instance, if you own the land, you can do anything you want to with it as long as you aren’t breaking the law.  Or how just because you may find an idea or anything else repugnant does not mean that you can keep it fro existing.  Or how both good ideas and bad ideas have been unpopular, and unpopularity (or intolerance, I would say) should be a criterion for taking someone’s rights.  Plus, he angrily cusses… a lot.  That just made me happy.

Sadly, though, it seems as if the people who yelled the loudest in this situation were the intolerant ones.  But if history has taught us anything, it’s that sooner or later the right thing will happen.  Tolerance does increase over time, and the younger generations are more tolerant, more accepting, and less ignorant.

On a side note, as much as I despise the man, I do have very significant problems with the current screaming and yelling over Glenn Beck’s religion.  The man who was (and is, to a very large extent) a voice for many is now being discredited by his peers and even followers because he’s a Mormon.  Worse yet, his Mormonism is being compared to Islam.  The phrase “Mormonism: America’s Islam” has been thrown about in print in one form or the other at least 5 times that I have seen.  What happens when you combine ignorant Christians who believe that Islam is dangerous with the trope that Mormonism is a Satanic cult?  Well, my imagination doesn’t have to run wild to figure out the likely outcome.  Hell, even I was taught that Mormonism was a Satanic cult.  I know better, obviously, but that idea was planted in my head a long time ago, and for people who don’t know better, that can be an issue.  Again, intolerance at work.  It’s Modern American Politics.

Leave a Reply

