The Satanic Tortilla Verses (Curtain)

July 26, 2010

Book Club:

For those of you keeping score, The Tortilla Curtain is now done on my end.  If anyone is reading along with me, feel free to say what you please about the novel on here, or email me/facebook me/text me/use whatever form of socialness that appeals to you. Since The Tortilla Curtain is now done, I have moved on to The Satanic Verses.  Before I jump into the meat of this entry, I would like to say that I have been meaning to reading The Satanic Verses for a long time, and I’m very happy that I gave myself a reason to spend money and buy it.  While I have a few ebooks, I had to go old school with this; not only am I addicted to books, but I just love holding a book in my hands.  I love turning pages, I like seeing my progress through a book visually, I love having a stack of books on my floor that is 4 feet wide and at least 3 feet high.  Plus, this is just a work that deserves to be read in print form.

Also, I have been lent the book The Tao of Physics, and I’ve begun my old habit of “double fisting” books.  So I have two going at the same time.  Feel free to read The Tao of Physics (I strongly encourage that you do!), but don’t feel like you have to read two books at once.

On to The Tortilla Curtain!

So, to preface this, I would recommend this book to my friends.  Not because it’s a great book that will change your life or the way you see the world, but because I feel like different people might have different opinions and views of this books, and it’s probably a hit or miss novel.  For me, it was a slight miss.  Here’s why: The Author set out with a great story with a decent plot and vivid characters, and proceeds from this great point to destroy every character and to write an utterly depressing story.  Any character development that I could see (and it was only with two characters) was in a downward direction; by the end there was no one to root for, no redeeming qualities to admire, and nothing to take away.  The characters learned nothing, either about themselves or about each other, much less the world, and they all ended up with less than what they started.  Well, scratch that.  The immigrants started with nothing, gained a very little bit, and lost it all again.  I can discuss it much more, but I don’t want to ruin anything.  Read it for yourself, and I’d be more than happy to discuss the finer plot points etc. But by the end of the novel I was just dying to be done with it, which is an experience I’ve never had with a novel, mostly because I’ve never forced myself to finish a bad book.  Then again, I’ve never read a book that started with such promise that wound up losing it all in the end.

*sigh*

At least I have the rest of my summer reading to look forward to!

Happy reading (and less bookish blogs to return again very soon)!

Leave a Reply

